Queen Elizabeth

How many official titles does the Queen of England, Elizabeth, has?


Queen Elizabeth, since her birth in 1926, has been granted the use of numerous official and unofficial titles befitting her position.

Although she is known simply as ‘The Queen’ or ‘Elizabeth II’ by her subjects, she has many titles.

Today, we present to you all the oversimplified versions of her royal titles.

Formal titles

In the United Kingdom, Queen Elizabeth is officially titled ‘Elizabeth the Second’ by the United Kingdom, Northern Ireland. For her other Realms and Territories Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith, with the style of ‘Majesty’. This particular title was altered in 1953 in order to reflect more clearly the relations of the members of the Commonwealth to one another. Also of their recognition of the Royal Crown as a symbol of their free association.

Before this, as altered following the independence of India in 1947, the title of the Sovereign was ‘Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, of Great Britain, Ireland and the British Dominions beyond the Seas, Queen, Defender of the Faith. In the realms of Canada and Granada, Her Majesty’s title denotes her position as Queen of the United Kingdom. In Canada, the title is ‘Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God of the United Kingdom.

Also read: Let’s bask in the glory these photos of Queen Elizabeth driving a car.

Queen Elizabeth II (born 21 April 1926) has held numerous titles and honours, both during and before her time as monarch of each of her Commonwealth realms. Each is listed below; where two dates are shown, the first indicates the date of receiving the title or award (the title as Princess Elizabeth of York being given as from her birth), and the second indicates the date of its loss or renunciation.

  • 21 April 1926 – 11 December 1936: Her Royal Highness Princess Elizabeth of York
  • 11 December 1936 – 20 November 1947: Her Royal Highness Princess Elizabeth
  • 20 November 1947 – 6 February 1952: Her Royal Highness Princess Elizabeth, Duchess of Edinburgh
  • Since 6 February 1952: Her Majesty The Queen

So officially, she has 4 titles.

For more royal family updates: follow The Royal UK on Instagram

Some more informal titles

In Grenada, her title is ‘Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and of Grenada and Her other Realms and Territories. Her Majesty was granted the title ‘Mother of all People’ by the Salish nation in Canada.

In Jamaica, the 91-year-old monarch is unofficially known in Jamaican Patois as ‘Missis Queen’ or ‘Queen Lady’. In New Zealand, Her Majesty is unofficially known as ‘the White Heron’ by the Maori people which is a cherished bird rarely seen in New Zealand.

Semi-official titles: Queen Elizabeth has also been called ‘Queen of Gibraltar’ in a semi-official way. This title appeared on a Gibraltarian £5 coin. Now, it appears on Gibraltarian and British government documents in reference to The Queen. For the Republicans, the unofficial address of ‘Mrs. Windsor has entered into circulation as a pejorative title. However, this is to demonstrate discontent towards the existence of the British monarchy.

Also read: A rare look at what Queen Elizabeth is really like, as a mother.

Informal titles: In addition to these affectionate titles, the Queen is also known by various historic titles. In the Channel Islands, consisting of the Bailiwicks of Jersey and Guernsey, The Queen is known as ‘The Duke of Normandy’.

Furthermore, she reigns as Queen and is also referred to as ‘The Crown in Right of Jersey/Guernsey’.